Monty’s Deli? The “Proper Tits” of Jewish Delis!

iPastrami

I heard good stuff about this place even before they opened! Well, that’s probably not quite true, but if you like salt beef and pastrami you will love Monty’s.

Monty's

Typically, if you decided to start a blog, you have to remember to take pictures of the food before you start to eat it… however, when the waiter put in front of my face the Reuben Special (a RIDICULOUS pastrami and salt beef sandwich on toasted rye with Swiss cheese, Russian dressing, sauerkraut plus pickle and coleslaw on the side) I just couldn’t do it.

Reuben

Thankfully my mate (and fellow blogger) arrived a bit late so, on top of the 25 minutes he had to wait for his sandwich, he had to wait 3 more for me to take pictures (I know that 3 minutes are normally gone in the blink of an eye, but tell that to a hungry+angry man – he obviously wasn’t in the best mood about it).

My girlfriend opted for another pretty big sandwich with an “impossible-to-pronounce” name, the ‘Meshuggener’: salt beef, pastrami, liver, non-toasted rye bread and no cheese. This was also really good and packed full of meat, but I love my cheese so I reckon the winner for me is definitely the ‘Reuben Special’.

Monty's Deli

The location of Monty’s is perfect –  it’s right in the middle of the superb Maltby Street Ropewalk Market (a 10 minute walk from London Bridge station) and its incredible food stands (the pulled pork burgers looked unreal! I’ll be returning to try one or two of those bad boys).

Ropewalk

The staff were super friendly, the service was really good as was the value for money (less than a tenner each for a proper “Jewish feast” on rye + soft drinks).

Monty's staff

As my good friend Cozza would say: “Mate, this place is the Proper Tits!!” … And I really can’t find better words to describe it!


 

Gigs&Tips: Monty’s deli and the Ropewalk market could be the right meeting point if you’re going on later to a gig at the O2 arena on a Saturday night: Couple of sandwiches, easy going atmosphere, a couple of little places where to get cheap drinks and, when you’re good to go, you can either walk to Bermondsey station and get the Jubilee line or, if you’re too pissed, share a cab.

I’ll leave you with some lunchtime funky grooves..

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

