Beck @ Roundhouse (iTunes Festival) – 2nd September 2014

I have to admit that coming back to London after 3 weeks in the Philippines (click here if you missed the last post about my adventures over there) wasn’t too bad..

And that joy about returning was not caused by the clouds over Heathrow Airport when we landed, neither by the pile of bullshit that I got on Monday morning at the office; it all came from 2 sexy tickets that I won for Beck at the iTunes Festival!!

Beck B&G iTunes

I’ve fucking loved Beck since the tender age of 16. His ways of experimenting through music are simply marvellous and you never know what to expect in his next album. On top of that he’s a really good guitar player, he’s got a great voice and on stage he’s a crazy motherfucker.

Beck iTunes

I didn’t take many pictures during the show, not just because I hate iPhones and tablets at gigs, but also because it was one of the best live performances I’ve seen in ages and I didn’t want to miss a single second of it, at a point of almost peeing my pants on more than one occasion…

B&G Beck setlist
Setlist

 

As you can see from the above setlist, Beck and his impeccable musician fellas played all the hits (when they came back and ‘Sexx Laws‘ started the crowd went nuts!), ending up the show with the classic ‘Where It’s At’, made even more awesome by the addition of ‘Miss You’ (Rolling Stones) and ‘Do Ya Think I’m sexy (Rod Stewart) snippets.

Beck B&G

I’ve also applied for Elbow and Gregory Porter but I wasn’t blessed by the Lord (or by Steve Jobs) for those ones, and that was unfortunate and disappointing.

What about you B&G lovers? Any lucky iTunes festival stories or will you need to wait for next year’s “apply to win” shenanigans?


Bibs&Tips: Next time you go to an event around that area make sure you stop at Thanh Binh for some dinner before the show. It’s one of the best Vietnamese restaurants in London and it’s located in front of the Camden Stables Market main doors, 5 minutes walking from the Roundhouse.

Leave a Reply

