Truckfighters, Tinariwen and Jack White

The past week was again full of live music excitement..

Last Friday Truckfighters played at the O2 Academy in Islington and, even with a pretty fucking late arrival (AGAIN!!),  me and Cozza managed to see them performing the last 4 songs..

TF2TF1

Jesus Christ I love these guys so much! And I truly love Desert Cruiser; they finish all their gigs with that song, with everyone in the house singing along, even the sweaty walls!

Sorry boys, next time I’ll try to drink less beers prior to the show and rock up on time.

TF3

Talking about desert, Tinariwen (which in the Tamasheq language literally means ‘deserts’) and their West African guitar-driven sound, rocked the Roundhouse the following Sunday.

Tinariwen 1

Imagine being stuck in a big tent in the middle of the Sahara Desert with a group of local musicians, where the only thing that you can do, apart from asking for more tea, is listening to the music they are playing.. Well, that is the best explanation that I can give you about the atmosphere that these northern Malian rock rebels created during the gig, apart from beer and cider served instead of the tea.

Tinariwen

I discovered these guys this summer through my girlfriend’s dad Damian, the coolest 70 years old dude that I know, and since then I got addicted to their sound. If you still don’t know them then you should.

Not the best video quality, but will surely give you an idea..

Wednesday was the turn of Jack White at the O2 Arena..

I’m not a big fan of the Millennium Dome in all honesty, as I prefer more intimate gigs, but I had this thing in my head about seeing crazy Jack live that made me not care too much about the location.. Plus I got the tickets for my birthday (thanks Lucy) so why not.

JW (1)

I much appreciated the fact that on top of White’s solo stuff (Freedom at 21 & Lazaretto) some great tunes by The White Stripes (Dead Leaves And The Dirty Ground, Fell in Love With a Girl, Astro & Hotel Yorba) and The Raconteurs (Top Yourself & Steady As She Goes) were also played, but unfortunately at the end of the show I wasn’t as impressed as I though I would be.

Jack White O2

Maybe it was just the place, or Jack not being great in communicating with the crowd, or some of the musicians playing not matching at all that type of music, or maybe my expectations for this gig were too big, who knows? What I do know is that for the first time in my life I left a concert before the last song had been played, and that should explain everything.

Next gig will be Mad Caddies at the little O2 in Islington, the perfect band to play out the year..

Ciao B&G lovers, have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

