An extraordinary evening with the Mad Caddies..

.. that started with a Chilango burrito, some beers and a quick chat with Sascha (guitar) and Ed (trombone) from the band just before the show. We got talking about when I arrived late to their gig in Milan in 2003 and we ended up playing the dices and getting drunk, then, as soon as me and my friends got in, we found the perfect spot to watch the great performance they put together, just in-between the bar and the stage.

Chilango
Pulled pork burrito at Chilango

It’s impossible to fully describe how I felt, but I can promise you that when they played Macho Nachos, Road Rash and Leavin’ I was completely taken back  to the late nineties/early noughties, when it was all about skateboarding (or at least trying to) and Punk Rock music.

Needless to say that I was crying a little bit during that trip down memory lane, but y’all know how soft I am.

Mad Caddies

IMG_9302

Last night the boys from Santa Barbara were absolutely impeccable, and since they started 20 years ago they’ve only got better and better, especially live. Chuck’s voice is still amazing, Dustin smashed it at the keyboards, Graham and Todd did the same on the bass and on the drums, Sascha is still looking like a kid but he now plays like a pro, and Eddie the Sexy-Mexi wasn’t just epic at the trombone, but he also managed to jump all over the stage for the entire show and play the last song from the bar just behind where we were standing. S-U-P-E-R-B!!!!

IMG_9286

Unfortunately Keith, Caddies’ trumpet player since they started back in 1995, is on tour with Mariachi El Bronx, so wasn’t there to enjoy the party. I’m pretty sure he’s still having a good time though.

Mad Caddies

IMG_9281

Dear Mad Caddies, thanks a lot for being the soundtrack of my youth and for making feel like a kid again during your show yesterday. Funny enough it happened to be just 5 days before my 30th birthday, so I’ll take it as a pretty cool present.

IMG_9287

IMG_9291

One more post before Xmas amigos, and I promise it won’t be about music this time.

Take’er easy dudes…. I know you will.

Leave a Reply

