Sutton & Sons: Fish & Chips with style

Italians love stories… Especially stories behind food!

I still remember when I was a kid and my grandfather told me everything about his minestrone: “The recipe is 100 years old Filippo and I promise one day, when you’re older, I’ll be revealing you all the secrets” … Unfortunately that day never came, as Nonno left us over 20 years ago, but I’ve already started trying to reproduce that amazing soup he was famous for and I’ll keep you posted on that.

I bloody love stories… Like Matthew’s story, who started working at Sutton & Sons when he was a kid and when they were just fishmongers in Stoke Newington High Street. “Geezers, I went from gutting fish on a pretty rough part of town to managing restaurants. Can you believe that?” … What really got me there wasn’t just his strong Cockney accent, but his passion about what he used to do and what he’s doing now!

He explained to us that the Sutton family started serving fresh fish/seafood in 1998 and 17 years and a heap of satisfied costumers later they recently opened their third restaurant in London, with the ingredients coming, of course, directly from the fishmongers. How good is that?!?

Sutton and Sons - Essex Road
Sutton and Sons – Essex Road

I could have listened to him for hours and hours, but the main reason why me and my friend Damien from London Munchies were there at their brand new Essex Road branch was to try some food… And God we did!

This is the feast that Matthew arranged for us:

  • Fried Whitebait and Calamari (£4.50 each). I love my calamari and I’m not afraid of saying that these were the best calamari I’ve ever eaten in my whole life! Very meaty and VERY yummy!

Sutton & Sons - Starters

Sutton & Sons - Starters #2

Sutton & Sons - Starters #3

  • Second Starter: Half kilo of mussels (£4.50 per half kilo or £6.95 per kilo). As good as the ones my Mamma cooks me when I go down to Italy to see her – If you’re a seafood lover I definitely recommend you to get some when going there!

Sutton & Sons - Mussels

Sutton & Sons - Mussels #2

  • The Fish & Chips (£9.95) + Mrs Sutton pickles (£2.90 each): The piece of cod that Matt brought us was very tender, not greasy and not heavy, the chips were pretty badass, the curry sauce was like heaven in a gravy format and Mrs Sutton homemade pickles were the perfect addition to this beautiness.
S&Ss 6
Cod & Chips – Sutton and Sons
Cod & Chips
Please bear in mind that the food looks MUCH better in reality!!
Sutton - Pickles
Mrs Sutton homemade Pickles
  • The grilled swordfish steak (£9.50): YES! YES! YES! My dad used to take me to a fish restaurant near Genova when we were doing wine deliveries around there and swordfish was the only thing I was eating. Not because I was picky but because it was f-ing delicious. This little anecdote to simply tell you that the Sutton & Sons sword fish is on the same level as that one was and I’ll probably take my dad to confirm that next time he’s coming up to London.

Sutton & Sons - Sword Fish

Sutton & Sons - Sword Fish #2

Sutton & Sons - Sword Fish #3
Delicious sword fish @ Sutton & Sons
  • Last but not least: His Majesty tuna steak burger (£11.90 w. chips). What can I say about this beast? And what to say about the HUGE amount of tuna steak in it? The most appropriate adjective is “Orgasmic”, no doubts about that! Pesto and pickles on the top half of the burger, rich and a wee spicy tomato sauce underneath. How am I suppose to start a diet when I’ve got something like this just a 10 minutes Vespa ride from home?!?!

Tune steak burger - Sutton & Sons

Tune steak burger - Sutton & Sons #2
Tune steak burger @ Sutton & Sons… Jesus!

To all my Italian followers: I know that a lot of you, when in London, are always curious about fish and chips… Needless to say that next time you’re over here, rather than entering a random pub and order a battered and greasy piece of an unspecified animal sold as fish, please go and see my friends at Sutton & Sons – They have great lunch deals, a 20% discount on food after 4pm (offer valid in their Essex Rd branch until the end of November) and they will stuff-your-face with quality food.

For directions/additional information simply visit their site or contact me and I’ll be happy to point you in the right direction.

If you do Instagram stuff don’t forget to tag B&G if you’ll be going there after reading this!

Me @ Sutton and Sons
Cutting the tuna steak burger in half was a pretty tough job…

Thanks for reading and THANKS Matthew for a great night and for a quantity of food that would have fed an army! Best fish and chips I’ve had to date!


Planning on having a naughty weekend? If so make sure these guys will be part of the soundtrack… I recently saw them at the O2 Institute in Birmingham and they blew me away!

Ciao for now!

Leave a Reply

